Fawlty Towers

You will earn 2 loyalty points with this purchase

Product information

Fawlty Towers is a BBC television sitcom that was first broadcast on BBC2 in 1975 and 1979. Twelve episodes were made (two series, each of six episodes). The show was written by John Cleese and Connie Booth, then married, both of whom also starred in the show.

The series is set in Fawlty Towers, a fictional hotel in the seaside town of Torquay, on the "English Riviera". The plots centre on tense, rude and put-upon owner Basil Fawlty (Cleese), his bossy wife Sybil (Prunella Scales), comparatively normal chambermaid Polly (Booth), and hapless Spanish waiter Manuel (Andrew Sachs), showing their attempts to run the hotel amidst farcical situations and an array of demanding and eccentric guests.

In a list drawn up by the British Film Institute in 2000, voted by industry professionals, Fawlty Towers was named the best British television series of all time.


The Paperboy, though rarely seen, is revealed to be the prankster who rearranges the letters on the "Fawlty Towers" sign to sometimes crude phrases. The shot of the hotel's sign appears at the beginning of every episode but one, "The Germans", when a hospital is used, since it is the only episode which does not begin at the hotel. During the first series, the sign loses letters each episode; episode five brings the first anagram, "Warty Towels". In the second series, the first episode sign correctly spells 'Fawlty Towers', but changes in each subsequent episode, from the correct spelling to various anagrams. 'Flowery Twats' is the only complete anagram, using all the letters.

The sign changes as follows*:

Episode 1: "Fawlty Towers" (the letter "S" is askew)
Episode 2: "Fawlty Tower" (the letter "L" is askew)
Episode 3: "Fawty Tower" (the second letter "W" is askew)
Episode 4: "Fawty Toer"
Episode 5: "Warty Towels"
Episode 7: "Fawlty Tower" (the letter "L" is askew)
Episode 8: "Watery Fowls"
Episode 9: "Flay Otters"
Episode 10: "Fatty Owls"
Episode 11: "Flowery Twats"
Episode 12: "Farty Towels"

All 12 episodes and extras taken from the 2009 remastered DVD edition.

Files are in MKV format.

Technical specifications

Weight 0.06kg


Write a review and share your thoughts with other shoppers!
No reviews yet, be the first.