You will earn 5 loyalty points with this purchase

Product information

Catweazle is a British television series, starring Geoffrey Bayldon in the title role, and created by Richard Carpenter for London Weekend Television. The first series, produced and directed by Quentin Lawrence, was screened in the UK on ITV in 1970. The second series, directed by David Reid and David Lane, was shown in 1971. Each series had thirteen episodes, most but not all written by Carpenter, who also published two books based on the scripts. The series was broadcast in the UK, Canada, Ireland, Gibraltar, New Zealand, the Netherlands, Germany, Australia, Sweden, Norway, Iceland, Czechoslovakia, Nicaragua, and Trinidad and Tobago.


The series featured Geoffrey Bayldon as the title character, an eccentric 11th-century wizard who accidentally (by total immersion in water) travels through time. In the first series he arrives in the year 1969 and befriends a young red-headed boy, Edward Bennet, nicknamed Carrot (Robin Davies), who spends most of the rest of the series attempting to hide Catweazle from his father (played by Bud Tingwell) and the farmhand Sam (played by Neil McCarthy). Catweazle searches for a way to return to his own time while hiding out in a disused water tower, which he calls Castle Saburac, with his familiar, a toad called Touchwood.

The second series featured a 12-part riddle that Catweazle, transported to the 1970s, attempts to solve at the rate of one clue an episode, the solution (as he thinks) being revealed in the 13th.

Season 1 - 2

Episodes in MKV format

Technical specifications

Weight 0.12kg


Write a review and share your thoughts with other shoppers!
No reviews yet, be the first.